The Wandering Ear
The Wandering Ear
SLUGS " I Only Party(w my baby) encourages us to spend more time with our loved ones.
0:00
-1:55

SLUGS " I Only Party(w my baby) encourages us to spend more time with our loved ones.

Photo courtesy of SLUGS

Above is an audio recording of SLUGS sharing the story behind the meaning of there song “ I Only Party(w my baby)”. This is part of TWE Audio Artist Series.

SLUGS is a four-piece alt-rock outfit out of Los Angeles composed of singer/songwriter/guitarist Marissa Longstreet, Sarsten Noice (bass/vocals), Josh Beavers (lead guitar), and Dash Hutton (drums). Their influences range from Linda Perhacs with their melodic harmonies and tenderness to Thee Oh Sees with their high energy, spitfire performances. 

For the longest time, I was always curious why I valued spending time with people more than anything else. And it wasn’t until I took one of those quizzes to figure out what kind of person you are. The quiz said that one of my love languages is Quality time with people. SLUGS newest single “ I Only Party (w my baby)” talks about this idea of spending quality time with you’re friends or significant other.

I think that it’s important to spend time with people because by doing so you reconnect and also us as humans were designed to be in community. This idea of spending time with people reminds me of this saying that goes “ No man is an Island.” Essentially what this quote means is that as humans we can’t be isolated and especially the times that we went through these last 15 months we truly realized that we need people around us.

Listen to I Only Party (w my baby) wherever you stream your music at. You can follow SLUGS on Facebook, Spotify, and Instagram.

0 Comments