The Wandering Ear
The Wandering Ear
SLUGS “I Could Do Better” shares with us the simplicity of being a kid.
0:00
-1:59

SLUGS “I Could Do Better” shares with us the simplicity of being a kid.

Above is a voice memo from Marissa who is a singer/songwriter from the band Slugs. Marissa shares with us the story behind the song I Could Do Better.

SLUGS is a four-piece alt-rock outfit out of Los Angeles comprised of singer/songwriter/guitarist Marissa Longstreet, Sarsten Noice (bass/vocals), Josh Beavers (lead guitar) and Dash Hutton (drums). Their influences range from Linda Perhacs with their melodic harmonies and tenderness to Thee Oh Sees with their high energy, spitfire performances.

I always find myself sometimes wanting to be a child again. Especially when life gets really tough and stressful. I find myself lamenting on and looking back on how easy it was to be a kid. Like imagine when you are young there is nothing that you are inherently stressing about. But for some reason once you get older you come to realize that life isn’t as you thought it was as a kid. 

And moments like this when you realize that life isn’t as fun as it is. But the crazy thing about this whole experience is that when you are a child you romanticize the idea of being an adult. You talk about how when you are an adult you will do this and do that. But the majority of the time when you become an adult you realize that what you wanted as a child isn’t really how it works. 

In SLUGS song “I Could Do Better” the song talks about the idea of how life is when you are a kid and how life is more simpler for you. The song also talks about the lead singer Marrissa Longstreet journey with finding sobriety and the joys and challenges of staying sober. Marissa's convicting and captivating voice just hooks the listeners attention from start to finish. Here’s Marissa talking about the theme of the song “I think the theme is a voyage of floating in space, the big chaotic crash down and every small step after in getting grounded.” Marissa then goes on to talk about the story behind the song. I compared my carefree attitude as a child, finger painting an image of nothing, to the “I don’t care” attitude of my 20’s. I wrote this song as if it were an intervention on myself, and I was playing both sides. I wanted to find my way back to carefree innocence coming from a place of sinister repetition and complacency.” 

Listen to I Could Do Better wherever you stream your music at. You can follow SLUGS on Instagram, Facebook, and Spotify. 

0 Comments